My Favorite Books of 2015

As 2015 draws to a close, I’m reminiscing about all of the great books I’ve read this past year. It was a good year of reading, so I wanted to share ten of my favorites. Please note that these aren’t my favorite books that were released in 2015, but simply the favorites that I’ve read in 2015.

10. WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

wewereliars
Confession: I didn’t technically read this book, but I listened to the audiobook and it turned out to be much better than I anticipated.

9. LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell

landline

Landline was a very refreshing read. As much as I love YA, reading from an adult’s POV was a nice break and Rainbow Rowell really delivers with this novel.

8. THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN by Paula Hawkins

the girl

If you like mysteries… If you like drama… If you like trains… This book is for you.

7. THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater

raven boys

You can ask my sister, this book had me under its spell, or should I say, its psychic powers? Gansey is one of the more interesting characters I’ve been introduced to and you’ll want nothing but to go with him on his crazy adventures to uncover hidden secrets.

6. ALTERED by Jennifer Rush

altered

Don’t judge this series by their book covers. This is a fantastic story that will get you out of any reading slump. It worked for me, in fact I read most of these books in one day/sitting. (The second novel, Erased, is my favorite of the series.)

5. ELEANOR AND PARK by Rainbow Rowell

ep

Well what do you know? Rainbow Rowell made the list again. Disclaimer: I’m only placing this book at #5, because I (stupidly) decided to number this list. Eleanor and Park is now one of my all-time favourite novels and I recommend it to everyone.

4. ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL by Jesse Andrewsearl

I could talk about this novel for hours on end. It has captured my heart, and I’m proud to be the owner of a signed copy of this book. Read the book and then watch the movie as both are fantastic.

3. YOU by Caroline Kepnes

you caroline kepnes

I stumbled upon this book at the USC library and am so glad I decided to pick it up. YOU is a thrilling, albeit creepy, novel that will keep you reading until the very last page. It may make you question your morality, but that just showcases the strength of Kepnes’ writing. This is also the book that made me want to start blogging about my reading experiences, because after finishing it I was desperate to find someone to talk to/scream to about it.

2. IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini

funny story

This is the best book I’ve ever read about depression, but don’t let that fool you into thinking that this is a sad book. Although it’s about depression and mental illness, it’s a truly hilarious novel that had me laughing out loud more times than I can count.

1. THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

mara dyer

Out of all the great books I’ve read this year, Mara Dyer had to take the top honor. This trilogy was the highlight of my summer. Noah Shaw is ultimate bae and Mara Dyer is a flawed yet lovable protagonist who you can’t help but root for. This book has its creepy moments, its romantic moments, and its mysterious moments, and with all of them combined it makes for a great trilogy. 10/10 would read again.

 

Leave a Reply

