The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”
Now that is how you conclude a first chapter. In that instant, I was hooked and mentally preparing myself for a heartbreaking journey.

The Raven Boys is an incredible story. It follows Blue, a girl who belongs to a family of psychics while she herself is not. And then there are the raven boys: Noah, Ronan, Adam, and Gansey (I pronounce it gayn-see, but someone please correct me if I’m wrong). The raven boys are boys who attend Aglionby, an expensive private school in Henrietta, Virginia, that Blue has sworn to stay away from. Of course, that vow doesn’t last and soon enough Blue finds herself embarking on a quest with these boys. Gansey, the unofficial ring-leader of his squad (#squadgoals) is committed to finding Henrietta’s ley line with the hope of ultimately finding the body of Glendower. That all might sound vague and confusing, but part of the fun in this book is learning about this quest and this fantastical mission.

Apart from The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater is the author of the bestselling Shiver trilogy, as well as The Scorpio Races, but this is the first of her novels that I have read and honestly, I’m incredibly impressed by her knack for creating realistic and distinct characters. This skill really shines when it comes to the raven boys for each of them have distinct personalities, habits, and vocabularies that truly make them come alive. I feel emotionally attached to all of them. Yes, even Ronan.

Overall, I really enjoyed my time with this book and I’m patiently waiting to start The Dream Thieves, the next book in the series. I told myself I wouldn’t start reading it until I finished writing out this review, but it’s proving to be a difficult promise to fulfill. If you can’t tell already, I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the paranormal, psychics, trees that speak Latin, and fun. If you’ve already read this book, tell me what you thought of it either in the comments or on twitter (@MikaylaBrie).

Take care,
Mikayla Brie

Leave a Reply

